WhatsApp, the most popular messaging app, is reportedly testing a new feature that allows you to retrieve accidentally deleted messages.
For the inexperienced users, WhatsApp currently allows users to delete messages sent to individuals or groups using the ‘Delete for everyone’ feature. This allows the sender to delete messages for everyone from the platform within a certain amount of time (up to about an hour).
This feature is extremely useful if you want to delete a message that you accidentally sent to an individual or group chat.
But what happens if you accidentally delete important messages by clicking the “Delete for everyone” option instead of “Delete for me”. Well, it seems WhatsApp has understood your predicament.
According to a new report from WABetaInfo, which tracks all the latest developments related to WhatsApp, the messaging platform is apparently working on an “Undo” button for the messages that have been deleted for you.
So, how does this ‘Undo’ button work? For example, if you press the “Delete for me” option, WhatsApp will immediately show an “Undo” button at the bottom of the screen, asking whether you want to undo your action or not, such as changing “Delete for me” to the option “Delete for everyone” and vice versa.You only have a few seconds to undo your action.
Tapping the Undo option will restore the deleted message.
The feature is reportedly rolling out with WhatsApp for Android beta marked 126.96.36.199. However, it is not yet known when this feature will be available to all users.
Also, the feature is currently in development, whether it will make a stable build remains to be seen.
In addition to the ‘undo’ button, WhatsApp is also testing another feature that lets you edit a message after it’s been sent.
The company also recently increased the file sharing limit from 100MB to 2GB and rolled out the feature around the world with WhatsApp beta v188.8.131.52. It has also released the message replying feature to all WhatsApp users.