If you are someone who takes a lot of photos and is responsible for sharing them with friends, you will make the most use of the iPhone’s Shared Album feature. It is part of Apple’s iCloud Photo Sharing functionality, which is popular and unique.
Not only does it allow you to share the photo albums directly with your contacts, but it also reduces the hassle of physically sharing one photo after another, which usually takes a lot of time.
How do you delete them once you have shared albums on your iPhone? If this is a question that has annoyed you, we’ve listed all the answers for you in this guide.
How to enable or disable iCloud Photo Sharing on iPhone?
Before discussing how to delete the shared albums on iPhone, let’s highlight the steps on how to enable or disable the shared albums on iPhone.
Following are the steps you need to go through:
- Open Settings
- Navigate to “Photos & Camera”
- Go to “iCloud Photo Sharing” and toggle the switch on or off depending on your preferences.
This particular setting does not affect the albums already shared on iPhone. So that’s something you should pay attention to.
How to Delete Shared Albums on iPhone?
When it comes to using the iPhone’s Shared Album feature, there are two cases that you should consider. The shared albums can be:
- The ones you made
- The ones you’ve been added to
- So when it comes to deleting the shared albums on your iPhone, you have to choose the album to delete first.
- If it is the album you created on your iPhone, you can easily delete the folder from your iPhone.
- If it’s the album that someone has shared with you that you no longer want to participate in, you can unsubscribe from the shared album and it should be removed from your iPhone’s gallery.
Things are as simple as that. However, we recommend that you be very sure of the images and content you delete before continuing. If necessary, check each photo before deleting it.
What Happens When You Delete Shared Albums?
If you’re wondering here what happens to the images when you delete the shared album, there are two scenarios:
- When you delete a shared album that you have created, the images and media files are deleted from your iPhone. Also, anyone who has access to the album is automatically unsubscribed.
- When you unsubscribe from a shared album, the images are only removed from your iCloud account. None of the other participants in the shared album are having trouble accessing the content.
If you were not sure how to delete the shared album on your iPhone, we hope this article answers all your questions in detail. Make sure to cross-check all images or make a copy of the images and media files before deleting them completely.