Collaborate on Projects with Messages in iOS 16

With iOS 16, every user’s wait is finally over. The exploration of the new features begins. Of these, there is one feature that will make it really easy for you. This feature is called Collaborate on Projects Using Messages. With this feature, the people in the chat are automatically added to the note, document, presentation, or project at hand. You can communicate via messages within the app in which you collaborate. In addition to messaging, the ability to initiate a FaceTime call is also available within the project.

Collaboration is currently compatible with Files, the Mac Finder, Keynote, Numbers, Pages, Notes, Reminders, and Safari. However, it will also be compatible with third-party apps where developers choose to include it in their apps. For supported apps, you can send a collaboration invite through Messages on your iPhone with iOS 16, iPad with iPadOS 16, or Mac with macOS Ventura.

Collaborate on Projects with Messages in iOS 16

With iOS 16, you can now have messaging that makes it easy to collaborate on projects with your friends and family. Start a group chat, invite the people you want to work with and start sharing files, photos and other media. Plus, you can send money to your employees directly from the app with built-in Messages support for Apple Pay.

  1. Open the Notes app on your iPhone.
  2. Create a new note or open the existing one you want to collaborate on.
  3. Click the share icon in the top right corner of your screen.
  4. Click the collaboration option on the sharing page.
  5. Before sharing the file, you can change the project’s permissions.
  6. Tap the Only people you invite can edit option just below the Copy/Collaborate tab to do this.
  7. On the next page you can indicate whether the file is only accessible to those you invite or to everyone who has the link.
  8. Under Permissions, you can specify whether users can make changes or only view the file.
  9. Finally, you can choose whether the file owner wants others to be able to invite you.
  10. Tap Done to save the changes.
  11. Tap Messages to share the file now.
  12. Enter the name or phone number of the recipients or users you want to add to the message thread on the To: tab.
  13. Add a comment if desired, then tap the send icon.

After you share the file with all members, it will be added to the thread. You will see a new icon in the top right corner. You may even have a group photo as a profile picture in this message thread. When someone in the group edits the collaboration file, everyone gets a notification. You can click Show to see the changes in the file.

One thing to keep in mind is that this feature is only available on iOS 16 and above. Users of older iOS versions can only view the message as an iCloud link.

Until next time, with another topic. Until then, Toodles.

Leave a Comment